Proper Introduction

• c0nsilience
    Participant

Hi all,

I am fairly new to the world of UVI and especially Falcon.  Having heard about it for years, what initially tipped me toward it was a link via ROLI concerning MPE.  Falcon being (at that time) one of a handful of soft synths with MPE integration, definitely registered on my radar to check out in the near future.  Well, the future is now. 🙂

Here’s my background, in a nutshell:

My first synth was a Super JX-10, followed closely by an M1, Wavestation, DX-7. In college, I got a Kurz K2K and a JP-8000, followed by a Novation K-Station. Several years later, a Moog Little Phatty and an E-MU MP-7.

I still have the Moog, but over the years, have gotten rid of the rest in favor of plugins. I’ve amassed quite a collection of plugins and have a decent workflow with my MIDI controllers and have embraced MPE. Even though I know there are a massive amount of things that can be done in a plugin that (a) aren’t realistic or affordable to pull off with hardware, or (b) just can’t be done, I’ve found myself getting a semi-modular/modular GAS bug. I think it’s because I’d really like to get back to basic sound design and enjoy the thought of “one knob = one function” and the eventual expandability through patching.

Yep, I just about started going down the hardware modular hole.  Then I decided to look into UVI’s Falcon and HALion 6. 😉

I’m brand new to both, but I’m glad I’m exploring this path.  I think they are both the answer and I am really loving Falcon so far, being just a few days into it.

Sampleconstruct
    Keymaster

Welcome to Falcontinuum, that reads like quite a journey through the world of hard- and software synths, in the latter you have chosen two of the most powerful hybrid instruments which currently exist on this planet.

c0nsilience
    Participant